ESB Board Members

There are currently 11 members on the board of ESB, seven of whom are appointed by the Irish Government and four worker board members are appointed pursuant to the Worker Participation (State Enterprises) Act 1977. Each member serves a five-year term. Some members may be appointed for more than one term. The board's primary role is to exercise objective and informed judgement in determining the ESB Group Strategy, to ensure there is a strong management team in place to execute and monitor business performance and to maintain a framework of prudent and effective controls to mitigate risk.   

Ellvena Graham

Ellvena Graham

Appointment to the Board: October 2010 and appointed as Chairman with effect from July 2015.
Career Experience: Ellvena has over 30 years' experience in banking, most recently at Executive Management level within Ulster Bank, where she was Head of Ulster Bank in Northern Ireland and Managing Director of SME Banking across the island of Ireland. Prior to that, she held the position of Chief Operating Officer for Ulster Bank Group. Having finished her executive role in 2015, Ellvena was appointed as a Non-Executive Director of Ulster Bank with effect from February 2016.
External Appointments: Chairman of the Economic Advisory Group (EAG) in Northern Ireland and  Board Member of the Northern Ireland Chamber of Commerce and Industry. Fellow of the Institute of Banking. 

Pat O’Doherty

Pat O'Doherty

Appointment to the Board: January 2013 as Board member and December 2011 as Chief Executive.
Career Experience: Holds primary and masters degrees in engineering from University College Dublin. Completed the Advanced Management Programme at Harvard Business School. Headed up ESB’s largest businesses as Executive Director ESB International, Managing Director ESB Networks and Executive Director ESB Power Generation.
External Appointments: Trustee of Conference Board of the United States and director of Energy UK.

Anne Butler

Anne ButlerAppointment to the Board: November 2012
Career Experience: Chartered engineer. Worked in engineering consultancy for the Dublin Local Authorities and as a founding Director (Executive) of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Former President of the Institution of Engineers and is a member of the Irish Academy of Engineering. 
External Appointments: Served on a number of boards including the National Roads Authority (NRA), Ordnance Survey Ireland (OSi), Dublin Institute of Technology (DIT) and REPAK. 

 Dave Byrne

Dave Byrne

Appointment to the Board: January 2011 under the Worker Participation (State Enterprises) Act 1977.
Career Experience: Member of a team that is now part of ESB’s Business Service Centre organisation and previously worked in Customer Supply (now Electric Ireland).
External Appointments: President of ESB Officers Association (ESBOA) until April 2010 and then appointed as the Group of Unions representative in Central Partnership.


Andrew Hastings

Andrew Hastings - ESB Board MemberAppointment to the Board: July 2015.
Career Experience: CEO position of Barclay's Bank Ireland plc until March 2015, which included responsibility for Northern Ireland. Fellow of the Institute of Banking and a Chartered Director. CEO of BNP Paribas Ireland from 2007 to 2011.
External Appointments: Director of Elavon Financial Services Limited, the Dublin based subsidiary of US Bancorp and a Director of Carrick Laurel Consulting Limited. Partner with AP Partners and consultant to London-based Valuation Consulting LLP.

Sean Kelly

Sean Kelly

Appointment to the Board: January 2011 under the Worker Participation (State Enterprises) Act 1977. 
Career Experience: Joined ESB in 1997 as an apprentice network technician (NT).
External Appointments: Chairperson of the ESB Defined Benefit Superannuation Committee and Training Officer for National Worker Directors Group. A member of the Mediators' Institute of Ireland. 


Paul Lynam

Paul Lynam, ESB Board Member

Appointment to the Board: October 2016
Career Experience: Paul has 25 years' experience in business and is CEO of the Whitfield Clinic in Waterford, the south east’s leading private hospital. Prior to that he spent five years as CEO of Siemens Ireland and was also CFO of Siemens Ireland from 2008-2010. Worked for 14 years in Germany in various management roles in both The Smurfit Group and Kappa Packaging.
External Appointments: Director of Whitfield Clinic associated companies, Director of Siemens Ireland from 2008-2015.

Tony Merriman

Tony Merriman

Appointment to the Board: January 2007 under the Worker Participation (State Enterprises) Act 1977.
Career Experience: Joined ESB as a network technician in 1979. Served as an officer with the ESB Group of Unions.
External Appointments: Board member of ESB ESOP Trustee Limited and Chairman of National Worker Director Group. 


Noreen O’Kelly

Noreen O'Kelly

Appointment to the Board: April 2013.
Career Experience: Chartered Accountant trained with KPMG. Held a number of senior positions in Independent News and Media Group including Head of Treasury and Group Secretary. In 2002, she was appointed Company Secretary of C&C Group. Consultant on Corporate Governance.
External Appointments: Director/Chair of Audit Committee of Rehab Group, Director/Chair of Audit Committee of Barretstown Gang Camp Fund Limited and external member of the Audit Committee of the Institute of Technology, Sligo.  


Peter O’Sullivan

Peter O'Sullivan Appointment to the Board: January 2015 under the Worker Participation (State Enterprises) Act 1977.
Career Experience: Joined ESB as a network technician in 1980. Formerly Safety Representative in Kerry / West Cork.
External Appointments: Former President of Network Technicians' Association, negotiation member of Group of Unions. Board member of ESOP Trustee Limited.


Alf Smiddy

Alf SmiddyAppointment to the Board: October 2016.
Career Experience:Chartered Accountant having worked with PricewaterhouseCoopers. Alf was Chairman and Managing Director of Beamish & Crawford Plc for over 12 years and on the board of its parent company, Scottish & Newcastle (UK) Ltd. He was also a member of the National Executive Council of IBEC and served on the Board of Cork Airport Authority.
External Appointments: Board Member of the Dalata Hotel Group Plc, Director of Cork Chamber of Commerce, Chairman of the Cork Local Government Committee and a Director of the Government backed Social Innovation Fund Ireland. A member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Ireland and a Fellow of the Irish Marketing Institute.

Noreen Wright

Noreen WrightAppointment to the Board: June 2011.
Career Experience: Called to the Bar of Northern Ireland in 1976. Worked in the electricity industry for 25 years and held a number of senior management posts in both Northern Ireland Electricity plc and Viridian plc including Company Secretary and Head of Legal Services.
External Appointments: Lay Magistrate, member of both the Industrial and Fair Employment Tribunals of Northern Ireland and the Northern Ireland Valuation Tribunal. Director of both Springvale Training Limited and Co-operation Ireland Limited. Trustee of Garfield Weston Trust.