Skip to Content

ESB Board Members


There are currently 11 ESB Board Members, comprising the Chairman, Chief Executive and five independent Non-Executive Directors. 

At present, there is a selection process in place to appoint another Non-Executive Director to the Board.

The Board Members:

  • bring independent and objective scrutiny to the oversight of the organisation;
  • are challenging when necessary while being supportive to the delivery of organisational strategy and objectives;
  • are equipped to offer considered advice on the basis of sound judgement and experience; and
  • make a time commitment to their work commensurate with their role.

The appointment and remuneration of the Independent Board members (including the Chairman) is determined by the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform and the Minister for Communications, Climate Action and the Environment and they do not receive pensions or any other remuneration. The terms and conditions are set out in their letters of appointment.

Noreen O'Kelly Noreen O'Kelly

Appointment and Terms
23.04.2013 - 22.04.2018

24.04.2018 - 23.04.2023

Career Experience
A chartered accountant who trained with KPMG. Held a number of senior positions in Independent News & Media Group including Head of Treasury and Group Secretary and was also Company Secretary of C&C Group. Currently works as a consultant on corporate governance.

External Appointments
Currently a director/chair of the audit and risk committee of DRSI CLG, and formerly a director of a number of charities.