Skip to Content

ESB Board Members


There are currently 11 ESB Board Members, comprising the Chairman, Chief Executive and five independent Non-Executive Directors. 

At present, there is a selection process in place to appoint another Non-Executive Director to the Board.

The Board Members:

  • bring independent and objective scrutiny to the oversight of the organisation;
  • are challenging when necessary while being supportive to the delivery of organisational strategy and objectives;
  • are equipped to offer considered advice on the basis of sound judgement and experience; and
  • make a time commitment to their work commensurate with their role.

The appointment and remuneration of the Independent Board members (including the Chairman) is determined by the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform and the Minister for Communications, Climate Action and the Environment and they do not receive pensions or any other remuneration. The terms and conditions are set out in their letters of appointment.

Grainne O'Shea Grainne O'Shea

Appointment and Term
01.01.2023 - 31.12.2026

Career Experience
Joined ESB as a graduate engineer in 1989. Holds primary and masters degrees in engineering from Trinity College Dublin and Dublin City University respectively and a diploma in Asset Management from the Institute of Asset Management. A Chartered Engineer (Engineers Ireland), Grainne has worked in ESB Networks, Power Generation and Supply. Currently, Business Strategy Manager for ESB Networks.

External Appointments
Irish representative on the General Assembly and on the Strategic Advisory Group of the EU DSO Entity, (EU Distribution System Operators Entity) . Vice Chair of the Eurelectric Working Group on Regulation and Network Customers and a member of the Distribution and Market Facilitation Committee.  Member of the European Distribution System Operators  (E.DSO) Policy and Regulation Committee. Member of the Electricity Association of Ireland Policy Committee. Chair of Networks Sub branch of the Energy Sector Professionals Association (EPSA). Previously (2012-2016) director of ESB Fullabrook Windfarm and Derrybrien Wind farm.