Skip to Content

ESB Board Members


There are currently 11 ESB Board Members, comprising the Chairman, Chief Executive and five independent Non-Executive Directors. 

At present, there is a selection process in place to appoint another Non-Executive Director to the Board.

The Board Members:

  • bring independent and objective scrutiny to the oversight of the organisation;
  • are challenging when necessary while being supportive to the delivery of organisational strategy and objectives;
  • are equipped to offer considered advice on the basis of sound judgement and experience; and
  • make a time commitment to their work commensurate with their role.

The appointment and remuneration of the Independent Board members (including the Chairman) is determined by the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform and the Minister for Communications, Climate Action and the Environment and they do not receive pensions or any other remuneration. The terms and conditions are set out in their letters of appointment.

Michael Barry Michael Barry

Appointment and Term
04.01.2023 - 03.01.2028

Career Experience
A chartered accountant, who trained with PwC, a UCC Commerce graduate and a Chartered Director. Retired in 2019 from the role of Chief Financial Officer of Bord na Mona PLC, having held that position for 13 years and was also Interim Managing Director of the Company in 2017/2018. Prior to that he held several senior financial positions in Ireland, the UK and the United States in a range of industries including pharmaceuticals, medical devices, property development and hospitality.

External Appointments
A member of the National Paediatric Hospital Development Board since February 2021.