Skip to Content

ESB Board Members

Our Board comprises 12 members appointed by the Minister for the Environment, Climate & Communications. Board members include the Chairman, the Chief Executive, six independent Non-executive Directors and four elected Worker Directors.

The Board Members:

  • bring independent and objective scrutiny to the oversight of the organisation;
  • are challenging when necessary while being supportive to the delivery of organisational strategy and objectives;
  • are equipped to offer considered advice on the basis of sound judgement and experience; and
  • make a time commitment to their work commensurate with their role.


The appointment and remuneration of Board members (including the Chairman) is determined by the Minister for Public Expenditure, NDP Delivery and Reform and the Minister for the Environment, Climate Communications.  Under the “one person/one salary rule”, the Chief Executive does not receive a board fee.  Terms and conditions are set out in Board member’s Warrants of Appointment.

Owen Kilmurray, white man with no hair and wearing a black checkered shirt, blue shirt and navy tie Owen Kilmurray

Appointment and Term
01.01.2023 - 31.12.2026

Career Experience
Joined ESB in March 1982. Worked as a general worker, charge hand linesman, electrician and as a Networks Technician in ESB Networks for over 40 years.

External Appointments
Active member of the ESB Group of Unions. Vice Chairman of the SIPTU Energy Branch Committee, member of SIPTU’s Transport, Energy, Aviation and Construction (TEAC) Committee and Treasurer of the National Worker Directors of Ireland.