Skip to Content

ESB Board Members

Our Board comprises 12 members appointed by the Minister for the Environment, Climate & Communications. Board members include the Chairman, the Chief Executive, six independent Non-executive Directors and four elected Worker Directors.

The Board Members:

  • bring independent and objective scrutiny to the oversight of the organisation;
  • are challenging when necessary while being supportive to the delivery of organisational strategy and objectives;
  • are equipped to offer considered advice on the basis of sound judgement and experience; and
  • make a time commitment to their work commensurate with their role.


The appointment and remuneration of Board members (including the Chairman) is determined by the Minister for Public Expenditure, NDP Delivery and Reform and the Minister for the Environment, Climate Communications.  Under the “one person/one salary rule”, the Chief Executive does not receive a board fee.  Terms and conditions are set out in Board member’s Warrants of Appointment.

White man with grey hair, wearing glasses and a blue shirt with black jacket Paddy Hayes

Appointment and Term
08.03.2022 - 07.03.2027

Career Experience
Appointed Chief Executive in August 2021. Previous to this, he was Executive Director of ESB’s Generation and Wholesale Markets business and then Managing Director of ESB Networks. A Fellow of the Institute of Engineers of Ireland, he holds a master’s degree in engineering from University College Dublin and an MBA from the University of Warwick. He worked in the steel industry in the UK before moving to the energy sector in 1999 to lead the Synergen joint venture between ESB and Statoil.

External Appointments
Member of the Board of Directors of the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI). Chair of the Open Doors Initiative.