Skip to Content

ESB Board Members


There are currently 12 ESB Board Members, comprising the Chairman, Chief Executive and six independent Non-Executive Directors. 

The Board Members:

  • bring independent and objective scrutiny to the oversight of the organisation;
  • are challenging when necessary while being supportive to the delivery of organisational strategy and objectives;
  • are equipped to offer considered advice on the basis of sound judgement and experience; and
  • make a time commitment to their work commensurate with their role.

The appointment and remuneration of the Independent Board members (including the Chairman) is determined by the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform and the Minister for Communications, Climate Action and the Environment and they do not receive pensions or any other remuneration. The terms and conditions are set out in their letters of appointment.

Sara Venning Sara Venning

Appointment and Term
14.12.2021 - 13.12.2026

Career Experience
CEO and Board Member of Northern Ireland (NI) Water since 2010. Experience in regulated utility management driving delivery in customer service and efficiency. Holds an MEng in Electrical and Electronic Engineering from Queen’s University, Belfast. Energy networks experience gained working with NIE Networks from 1996 – 2010. A Fellow of the Institution of Civil Engineers.

External Appointments
President of the NI WaterAid Committee.