Skip to Content

ESB Board Members

Our Board comprises 12 members appointed by the Minister for the Environment, Climate & Communications. Board members include the Chairman, the Chief Executive, six independent Non-executive Directors and four elected Worker Directors.

The Board Members:

  • bring independent and objective scrutiny to the oversight of the organisation;
  • are challenging when necessary while being supportive to the delivery of organisational strategy and objectives;
  • are equipped to offer considered advice on the basis of sound judgement and experience; and
  • make a time commitment to their work commensurate with their role.


The appointment and remuneration of Board members (including the Chairman) is determined by the Minister for Public Expenditure, NDP Delivery and Reform and the Minister for the Environment, Climate Communications.  Under the “one person/one salary rule”, the Chief Executive does not receive a board fee.  Terms and conditions are set out in Board member’s Warrants of Appointment.

Terence O'Rourke, white man with wavy grey hair and wearubf a white shirt and black jacket Terence O'Rourke Chairman

Appointment and Term
10.11.2020 - 09.11.2025

Career Experience
A Fellow of Chartered Accountants Ireland. Joined KPMG in 1975, became an audit partner in 1988 and was elected Managing Partner in 2006. A member of KPMG’s Global Board, Global Executive Team and EMA Board, from 2007 to 2013. Has a wide breadth of business skills with high-level experience in commercial, finance, decision-making and strategy development roles working with clients in Ireland and abroad. 

External Appointments 
Currently Chairman of RTE, Kinsale Capital Management and former Chairman of Enterprise Ireland. Board member of Ballymore (Ireland) and the Institute of International and European Affairs. Led the Arts Council 2014 Strategic Review Group and has been involved in a number of charity and cultural boards. A Patron of Chapter Zero Ireland, a community of non-executive directors that lead Irish boardroom discussions on the impacts of climate change. Dublin City University conferred Terence with the award of Doctor of Philosophy (Honoris Causa) in October 2023, acknowledging his contribution to Irish business, education, the arts and public services.